Open participation for Non-COST countries

What is COST?

COST is an intergovernmental framework for European Cooperation in Science and Technology, allowing the coordination of nationally-funded research on a European level. This research initiative makes it possible for the various national facilities, institutes, universities and private industry to work jointly on a wide range of Research and Development (R&D) activities. COST contributes thus to reduce the fragmentation in European research and opens the European Research Area to cooperation worldwide. It complements the activities of the EU Framework Programmes, constituting a “bridge” towards the scientific communities of emerging countries.

COST financially facilitate the mobility of researchers across Europe and fosters the establishment of scientific excellence in the nine key domains, one of them is on "Forests, their Products and Services".

How to apply?

Interested non-COST researchers should contact the Action Coordinator. S/he will be asked to fill the corresponding template and to write a motivation letter.

The request is considered by the Management Committee (MC), Domain Committee and Committee of Senior Officials (CSO). The application is considered at the first (if possible) MC meeting and the DC approval could be processed by written procedure in the weeks following the MC. The CSO would consider the application at its next meeting after the DC approval. The non-COST country institution is then a member of the Action and is able to attend MC meetings. MC meets generally twice a year.

Which are the different categories of non-COST?

This "categories" are only relevant when discussing the funding available for the non-COST country institute:

Near Neighbours = participant is eligible for reimbursement of one attendee per meeting (Balkan countries, Mediterranean countries; European NIS Albania, Algeria, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Egypt, Georgia, Lebanon, Lybia, Moldova, Morocco, The Palestinian Authority, Russian Federation, Syria, Tunisia, Ukraine)

Reciprocal Agreement countries = special arrangements for travel (Australia and New Zealand).

Rest of world = no special arrangements for funding, must cover their own costs for attending meetings.

Further information: www.cost.esf.org

Back to article listing

© European Forest Institute -


To subscribe EFIMED Newsletter, please contact Email. For more information check out www.efimed.efi.int