The European Forest Institute is an international organisation established by European States.


efi_organisation_siw.jpg : 60Kb

Member Countries

By the spring of 2017, a total of 27 European States had ratified the Convention on EFI, namely Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey and the United Kingdom.

These countries are Members of the Institute. The highest decision-making body of the Institute, the Council, consists of representatives of the Members, and meets in ordinary session every three years.

Associate and Affiliate Members

The EFI Associate Members meet on annual basis at the EFI annual conference. EFI currently has c.115 member organisations from 36 countries (including also EFI Affiliate Members). The organisations mainly include research institutes and universities.


The Board of EFI is responsible for establishing and keeping under review the overall research framework and the strategy of the Institute, and it supervises the Secretariat.

Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

The Scientific Advisory Board advises the EFI Board, Directors and the scientific staff of the Institute on research, strategies and networking.