Friday 23 September

Forest-based innovations: a key for Europe’s bioeconomy


9:00 – 9:30 Opening session
  Moderator: Dr. Bernhard Wolfslehner, EFI’s Central-East and
South-East European Regional Office
  Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Scarascia-Mugnozza,
University of Tuscia, Chairman of the Board, EFI
  Mr. Herbert Weidinger, Forestry Directorate Vienna, Senate Counsellor
  Mr. Gerhard Mannsberger, Ministry of Agriculture, Forestry,
Environment and Water Management, Austria ( speech )
9:30 - 13:00 Morning Session
  Moderator: Dr. Sofia Santos, Secretary General, Business Council
for Sustainable Development (BCSD Portugal)
  Innovation and modernising the rural economy ( presentation )
Mr. David Freshwater, Regional Development Policy Division, OECD
  Towards an innovative EU bioeconomy ( presentation )
  Dr. Barend Verachtert, Head of Unit, Agri-Food Chain Unit, 
DG Research and Innovation, European Commission
10:40 – 11:10 Coffee
11:10 – 12:30

Forest-based innovation

Market trends and consumer preferences affecting forest-based
products innovation: a global outlook ( presentation )
Mr. Marco Lucisano, Vice-President, INNVENTIA

* Äänekoski bioproduct mill  - Dr. Niklas von Weymarn, Metsä Fibre
   ( presentation )

* Innovation in forest genetics conservation  - Dr. Michele Bozzano, EUFORGEN
( presentation )
* HoHo building: world's highest wooden building - Dr. Richard Woschitz
   ( presentation )

12:30 – 12:50 How to foster innovation: the role of innovation policies ( presentation)
Dr. Gerhard Weiss, EFI’s Central-East and
South-East European Regional Office
12:50 - 13:00 Concluding remarks
   Dr. Sofia Santos, Secretary General, BCSD Portugal
13:00 – 14:30 Lunch
14:30 – 15:50 Panel discussion: Implications for forest research and education

Moderator: Prof.Dr. Lauri Hetemäki, EFI

5 panelists including:
- Prof. Dr. Christine Farcy, Université de Louvain
- Prof. Dr. Hubert Hasenauer,
University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna
- Dr. Elena Paoletti, Institute of Sustainable Plant Protection (IPSP)
- Prof. Dr. Mike Wingfield, President, IUFRO
- Dr. Gus Verhaeghe, INNOVAWOOD

15:50 – 16:00 Final remarks
  Prof. Dr. Lauri Hetemäki, EFI