COST E27 Clearinghouse PROFOR – Protected forest areas in Europe - analysis and harmonisation

Kotinen Old Growth Forest Reserve, Finland
Photographer: Erkki Oksanen

The final publication of COST E27 "Protected forest areas in Europe – analysis and harmonisation (PROFOR): Results, conclusions and recommendations" has been published (March 2007). Further details are available in the EFI press release.


The COST Action E27 PROFOR was established on the 28th of March 2001 and ended in February 2006. Twenty-five European countries (Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, FYR of Macedonia, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom) signed the COST Action E27 Memorandum of Understanding. (02/07/2002)


The overall aims of the Action were to describe, analyse, and harmonise the wide-range of Protected Forest Area categories used in European countries within the context of existing international systems of protected areas.

Working Groups

COST E27 was organized around three working groups

Working Group I – Description and analysis of European Protected Forest Areas. Co-ordinator: Dr. Jim LATHAM, Countryside Council for Wales, UK

Working Group II – Harmonisation and improvement of information on European Protected Forest Areas. Co-ordinator: Mr. Kris VANDEKERKHOVE , Instituut Voor Bosbouw En Wildbeheer, Belgium

Working Group III – A clearinghouse mechanism for European Protected Forest Areas. Co-ordinator: Mr. Andreas SCHUCK German Management Committee Member (presently working at European Forest Institute, Finland).
The aims of WGIII were to:

  • create a communication platform
  • create a webpage for information on bibliography and terminological terms
  • provide mechanisms for standardised data collection